EEA/Norway Grants

Target group

National and local authorities, NGO's and civil organisations. Private and public enterprises, and public-private partnerships, educational and research institutions, students and educational staff. 

Eligible applicants for project grants are any entity, public or private, commercial or non-commercial as well as non-governmental organisations, established as a legal person in the respective beneficiary country. Natural persons who are legal residents of the donor countries or of the respective beneficiary country may be eligible where explicitly stated in the regulations.


The EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021 fund has two overall objectives:

  • To contribute to a more equal Europe, both socially and economically 
  • To strengthen the relations between Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, and the 15 beneficiary countries in Northern, Central and Southern Europe. 


Read ongoing calls for proposals.

What are the objectives?

The EEA Grants are allocated to 15 countries in Europe – Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. 

There are 23 programme areas within five priority sectors: 

  1. Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness.
  2. Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction.
  3. Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy.
  4. Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms.
  5. Justice and Home Affairs.

All countries have different needs and priorities. Each country agrees on a set of programmes with the donor countries based on needs, priorities and the scope for bilateral cooperation

Who can apply?

Each of the 15 beneficiary countries have put up their list of fields they support according to a MoU (memorandum of understanding) signed with the donor countries. This means that the programs are different from one donor country to another. Applications must be submitted by an applicant from the beneficiary country and include a partner from at least on of the donor countries: Iceland, Norway and/or Lichtenstein. A complete overview can be found on the EEA grants website.


As stated in former paragraph  states that there are certain differences in in the programs of  the 3 donor countries (Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein). Consequently the eligibility for a grant is different from one country to the next. Again the interested reader should look at the website given in the former paragraph for further info. 

The role of Rannís

Rannís is the DPP (donor project partner) for four programs: 

  1.  Portugal (innovation).
  2.  Poland (education).
  3. Romania (research).
  4. The Czech Republic (culture). 

Contact person at Rannís for the fields of research, innovation and education/scholarships is Mr. Egill Þór Níelsson and contact person for culture is Ms. Ragnhildur Zoëga for culture. 

Rannís furthermore is in an advisory role within the fields of research, innovation, education and culture for the country programs where it does not have a DPP role. For other DPPs please contact the respective country at the EEA grants website

This website is built with Eplica CMS